0

ACROSS THE SPIDER-VERSE is an entertaining, gripping saga.

June 1, 2023 Spider-Man: Across The Spider-Verse (English) https://www.bollywoodhungama.com/movie/spider-man-across-spider-verse-english/critic-review/ SPIDER-MAN: ACROSS THE SPIDER-VERSE is an entertaining, gripping saga.

480 300

Shameik Moore https://www.bollywoodhungama.com/celebrity/shameik-moore/

Hailee Steinfeld https://www.bollywoodhungama.com/celebrity/hailee-steinfeld/

Brian Tyree Henry https://www.bollywoodhungama.com/celebrity/brian-tyree-henry/

Luna Lauren Vélez https://www.bollywoodhungama.com/celebrity/luna-lauren-velez/

Jake Johnson https://www.bollywoodhungama.com/celebrity/jake-johnson/

Jason Schwartzman https://www.bollywoodhungama.com/celebrity/jason-schwartzman/

Issa Rae https://www.bollywoodhungama.com/celebrity/issa-rae/

Karan Soni https://www.bollywoodhungama.com/celebrity/karan-soni/

Daniel Kaluuya https://www.bollywoodhungama.com/celebrity/daniel-kaluuya/

Oscar Isaac https://www.bollywoodhungama.com/celebrity/oscar-isaac/

SPIDER-MAN: ACROSS THE SPIDER-VERSE is an entertaining, gripping saga. en

Bollywood Hungama News Network https://plus.google.com/+BollywoodHungama

Bollywood Hungama https://www.bollywoodhungama.com/

210 58

0.5 5 3.5

Spider-Man: Across The Spider-Verse (English) Review {3.5/5} & Review Rating

SPIDER-MAN: ACROSS THE SPIDER-VERSE is the story of multiple Spider-Men coming together for a common cause. In Earth 65, Gwen Stacy (Hailee Steinfeld) is grappling with the death of her close friend, Peter Parker. On top of it, her cop-father George Stacy (Shea Whigham) is unaware that Gwen is none other than Spider-Woman. He detests her actions and feels she killed Peter. Hence, he’s longing to arrest her. One day, while fighting a monster, Spider-Woman aka Gwen bumps into Miguel O’Hara (Oscar Isaac), who’s a Spider-Man from another universe. He is joined by a pregnant Spider-Woman, named Jessica Drew (Issa Rae). They inform Gwen that this monster is from another universe. They further tell her that when the collider was opened, a lot of monsters jumped from one universe to another. Miguel has a watch that helps him travel from multiple universes without suffering a glitch. He is putting these monsters back into their respective universes. Jessica works with him and so does Spider-Men from many other universes. Miguel asks Gwen to join them. Gwen agrees. Meanwhile, In Earth 1610, Miles Morales (Shameik Moore) continues to be Spider-Man and save the city. He also struggles to be the ideal son of his parents, Jefferson Davis (Brian Tyree Henry) and Rio Morales (Luna Lauren Vélez). One day, he comes across a mysterious villain named Spot (Jason Schwartzman). He seems harmless at first but Miles soon realizes that it’s not the case. On top of it, Spot tells Miles (when he’s in his Spider-Man suit) that he’s the one responsible for his condition. Miguel and Drew, meanwhile, send Gwen to Earth 1610 to locate Spot. Gwen meets Miles, whom she considers her only friend. However, she doesn’t tell Miles about her mission. What happens next forms the rest of the film.

Movie Review: Spider-Man: Across The Spider-Verse (English)

Phil Lord, Christopher Miller and David Callaham’s story is splendid. Phil Lord, Christopher Miller and David Callaham’s screenplay is highly effective. The script has a lot of acts and chapters and the way the writing flows seamlessly is praiseworthy. Also, the writers pepper the narrative with some impactful funny, action-oriented and emotional sequences. Phil Lord, Christopher Miller and David Callaham’s dialogues are funny and hard-hitting. The opening dialogue is highly memorable.

Joaquim Dos Santos, Kemp Powers and Justin K Thompson’s direction is stylish yet simple to comprehend. A lot happens in the sequel and the director ensures he paces ahead swiftly but not too quickly. The Indian connection is terrific and would be loved by the audiences in our country. Besides, there are many surprises that will create a frenzy among fans in the theatre. The climax is highly unexpected and even nail-biting.

Movie Review: Spider-Man: Across The Spider-Verse (English)

On the flipside, the film is too long at 140 minutes. In some places, the film feels quite lengthy and even dragging. Secondly, the unique and novel animation sometimes gets too overwhelming for the senses.

The voicovers are quite good and the ones that stand out are that of Shameik Moore, Hailee Steinfeld, Oscar Isaac, Brian Tyree Henry, Luna Lauren Vélez, Karan Soni (Pavitr Prabhakar) and Daniel Kaluuya (Hobie). Daniel Pemberton’s music enhances the impact. The various songs used in the background give a nice touch. The animation is very appealing. Mike Andrews’ editing is fine but could have been crisper.

On the whole, SPIDER-MAN: ACROSS THE SPIDER-VERSE is an entertaining, moving and gripping saga. The Indian connection and the various surprises in the narrative would be lapped up by the fans. At the box office, it is all set to emerge as the biggest opener for an animation film in India and has the potential to have a very healthy run.

#SPIDERVERSE #entertaining #gripping #saga